Wedding Service

40 Under 40 from Fayetteville Observer: Methodist Gabrielle Allison

Gabrielle Allison

Last name: Gabrielle Allison

Age: 27

Place of birth: Mooresville

Where do you live now? Fayetteville

Employer: Methodist University

Job title: Marketing assistant and graphic designer

Who are your immediate family members? Husband, Jonathan Allison; mother, Susan Isaac; brother, Trey Isaac; maternal grandmother, Linda Honeycutt; stepmother, Tonya Allison; brothers-in-law, Jerric Allison and Joshua Allison

Education: Bachelor of Arts in Mass Communications with concentrations in Television / Multimedia, Radio and Journalism and a minor in Creative Writing from Methodist University, 2015

What community and professional groups are you affiliated with? Millennium Advisory Commission, Town of Fayetteville; Methodist University; Beta Sigma Phi Sorority (advisor to MU); Epicenter Church; FayNC Bloggers

What are your guiding principles? My guiding principles are justice, love, respect, diversity and knowledge. Each of these elements is essential to strengthening our community and building lasting and meaningful relationships with people.

How do you volunteer your time in the community? Most of my volunteering is done through my work with the Fayetteville Millennium Advisory Board. In addition to our work from advising to council on how to make Fayetteville a better place to live and recreate for millennials, we have also worked with various groups to educate and serve our community. Some of these projects included the city-wide cleanup of Fayetteville Beautiful as well as the linear mural project.

Outside of the commission, and before the pandemic hit, I enjoyed volunteering with my husband at the Hope Dinner at Epicentre Church. The dinner was held once a month and allowed members of our church and other community volunteers to serve a three-course meal to members of our homeless population. I also volunteer with Play4Kay at MU to raise money for breast cancer research and testing funding for underserved women in our community. Finally, I volunteer as a counselor for the Beta Sigma Phi sorority at MU, which performs various community services, its main philanthropy being Relay For Life.

In the past, I have also designed brochures for local churches and religious organizations, and even written plays for special Easter and Christmas programs.

Who has helped you be successful in your life and career? Above all, I give glory and honor to God for the place where he has placed me and the talents and opportunities he has given me. I thank my mother very much for who I have become and who I am becoming. She read “The Strong-Willed Child” several times while raising me, but was determined to never dull my passions and always be the type of woman who educates and makes up her mind. She is so supportive of me and is one of my greatest cheerleaders.

My husband supports me, is my best friend and confidant, and works with me to create a balanced home where everything is done no matter how busy we are. He’s the love of my life and I couldn’t dream of being successful without him.

I can’t forget to mention my best friend, Jeremy York. I guess you could call him my Soul Mister. We’ve been there for each other since 2011, when I started studying at MU. He’s one of those friends that you can just pick up the phone and call for anything, no matter how long it’s been!

While these are perhaps the people I find the most influential in my journey, I know that I have many friends, colleagues, church family members, and supporters who impact my life. For them, I am extremely grateful.

What goal would you like to accomplish before you turn 40? Before I turn 40, I would like to have at least one book written and available for download or purchase. I would also like to continue having difficult conversations about sexism, racism, sizeism and agism with a wider audience. Having difficult conversations with people who experience these “isms” is the best way to work for positive change in our community and our world.

What’s your favorite book ? My favorite book is “The Outsiders” by SE Hinton. I found this coming of age story in high school. In it, Ponyboy grapples between good and evil as a class war involving his own “family” breaks out. Ponyboy just wants to be normal and, as a plus size group geek, I could relate. Eventually, he learns that being in a different situation or social class doesn’t take away feelings of pain or joy or make them better or worse. He learns that while we are all unique, we all experience bad days, heartache, grief, happiness and love in our own way. This ideology is something that we have to understand in today’s society.

What are your hobbies? My hobbies are listening to music; singing; play video games; write for my blog,; create content for TikTok and YouTube; cuddle my cat Rum Tum and my dog ​​Maisel; to watch movies; and playing card and board games with my family.

What is your most precious possession? My most precious possessions are all from my marriage. My mother crocheted flowers for my bouquet, which is kept with a keepsake box of my wedding items. I also received my first pearl necklace as “something new” for my wedding from my mother, grandmother, brother and grandmother Jim Honeycutt, who passed away a few years ago.

If you had a theme song for your life, what would it be? “Just like fire”, by P! Nk. I have high hopes that I will have an impact that will last. I don’t wanna be just a lightning bolt in the pan of life. Here and left without saying anything, “I was here.” It is easier for some people to have an impact because they correspond to the norms of the society. There are, unfortunately, people who have tried to use my uniqueness, youth, and height to reduce my effort and impact. But these unique things about me are exactly what will help make the difference that I want to make.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.